Ups and Downs

THINGS I HAVE NOTICED WHEN BOUNCING...

 

I have had a fairly large trampoline in my garden since I bought it for our daughters's birthday eight years ago. At one point you could even see it from the Google Earth shot of the back of the house. Hone in on McDonalds car park and there it was in the garden next door. 

 

Not one of those with a net. Don't see the point. where's the fun in that? 'It'll teach her to be careful' said I. Of course it was me that fell off first. 

And no net meant that it was perfect for covering in blankets and sheets and turning into a massive low level yurt for a shriek of girls to camp out underneath in a warm summer's evening.

But the fondness for a bounce has waned somewhat from the original enthusiasm of a nine year old. At the 'don't be silly, mum' age of sixteen a sunny day now offers the opportunity for a sunbathing session in the garden trying to ignore the looming GCSE results.

A pleasant evening means it's a soft hangout filled with teenagers trying not to get caught smoking or spill their cheap beer.

 

But mostly the trampoline just sits there.

 

So, in an attempt to make use of this large, cumbersome object  while it's last summers taking up residence in the garden, I have taken up bouncing.

And these are some of the things I have noticed while doing so....

 

1. My bum aches after the first couple of goes.

2. I have quite flat feet.

3. It makes you feel gloriously ridiculous when you bounce for over five minutes.

4. If you listen to an audio recording (in my case an episode of the Archers) while bouncing you can completely forget what you're doing.

5. It's not something that done bra-less. Double Lycra is a minimum requirement.

6. You need to have a wee first.

7. It stops you feeling cross - there is a required time of four minutes before this takes effect.

8. I don't like electric shocks. I get a spark off the metal frame every time I get off.

9. The ground is remarkably un-bouncy by comparison. It's always a strange sensation when you 'land'.

10. Quite often I  can't be bothered.

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0